Book Review: We Were Sisters {Wendy Clarke}

I read Wendy Clarke’s We Were Sisters while on our recent getaway to Galena, IL. I hadn’t previously heard of this book but it caught my eye on the library bookshelf weeks ago. The cover says that it is “An absolutely gripping psychological thriller” Ummmm….YES PLEASE. I was super excited to read and review it!

Goodreads Synopsis of We Were Sisters

I turn to where I left my baby in his pushchair and pull up short. With a racing heart, I look around wildly, fear gripping my stomach. I only looked away for a moment. The pushchair and my baby are gone.

Kelly is taking her twin daughters to their first day of school, ushering them into the classroom, her heartbreaking to think they might not need her anymore when she turns around and sees that her newborn baby is gone.

As a desperate search ensues, baby Noah is quickly found – parked in front of a different classroom. But when Kelly reaches forward to comfort him, she finds something tucked beside his blanket. A locket that belonged to her sister Freya. A locket Kelly hasn’t seen since the day Freya died.

And then Kelly’s perfectly-ordered life begins to unravel…

We Were Sisters is a heart-pounding suspense thriller that will grip you until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train won’t be able to stop reading this incredible book. 

My Review of We Were Sisters {Wendy Clarke}:

As it turns out, this is NOT an “absolutely gripping psychological thriller.”

Eh.

So this book was good…it held my attention, had short chapters (the BEST), and an interesting plot.

However…

It was SO predictable and so much of it was just so unbelievable. Also, so many side plots meant to throw the reader off from figuring out the twists but instead just felt like unnecessary noise.

Years ago, I wrote a blog post and I explained my requirements for books I bring on vacation (check out that post…I still stand by all of the recommendations on there! You can read that post from 2019 HERE)! Would I have chosen to bring this particular book with me on vacation? Probably not as it just wasn’t “unputdownable” enough for me. However, we booked this trip quite literally 48 hours before we left (!!!) and this just happened to be the book I was reading at the the time soooo….into my suitcase it went 🙂

Reading with the prettiest view! Take me baaaaaack!

Would I recommend We Were Sisters? Well I wouldn’t NOT recommend it…but I definitely would recommend a whole bunch of other psychological thrillers instead. HERE are some of my psychological thriller recommendations!

Bottom Line

Eh.

Have you read this book? What did you think? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Xo,

Jenny

Click the image below to order the book through my Amazon affiliate link. When you order through this link, I receive a tiny commission. Thank you for your support, Xo

This blog is my favorite hobby and I would so love your support!  Here are ways you can help my blog to GROW:

*Please share this page with your book and blog loving friends!*

*Please share this page with your book and blog loving friends!*

*Subscribe with your email address to my blog (scroll all the way to the bottom of this page on mobile devices OR check the top right of this screen to enter your email address)*

*If you already have a blog, please “follow” mine*

*”Like” my Facebook page (and please comment on, “like”, and share my posts)*

*Follow me on Instagram*

*Follow me on Twitter*

*Subscribe to my YouTube channel*

*Clicking and buying products through my Amazon Affiliate links.  The cost to you is exactly the same and I receive a tiny commission off of your purchases.*

*Leaving a positive review on my Facebook page*

The ultimate list of my top book suggestions can be found HERE

The 12 best books I read in 2020 can be found HERE

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is img_5573-1.jpg

2 thoughts on “Book Review: We Were Sisters {Wendy Clarke}

  1. I love thrillers, but will pass on this one. Sadly, I’ve found that when the cover says it’s “An absolutely gripping psychological thriller” it usually is NOT.

    Like

Leave a Reply to bookcoffeehappy Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s